Gruyères castle

From 923 on, the Castle of Gruyères was the official residence of the 19 omonimous counts, who ruled over the entire Alpine region of the country. As a consequence of a difficult financial situation, the castle and its county were re-acquired by the cantons of Fribourg and Bern and were equally divided between them.