Saillon towers

Saillon was for the first time mentioned in the 11th century. The hill and its steep sides had at the time already been fortified. The prominent towers and the fortifications were present especially in the northern side, because in the past the Rhône flew south of the hill.

Pierre Gianadda foundation

It is a private museum open to the public since 1978, that includes the Gallo-Roman Museum (located on the ruins of a Roman temple discovered in 1976), the car Museum and a park which displays the greatest sculptures of European famous artists.  To make place for new halls, it was decided to not spoil the…

Basle Cathedral

The cathedral is a late Romanesque – early Gothic monument. The cathedral has been built mainly in red sandstone and dates back to the 12th century. Fires, earthquakes and bad weather in general have considerably damaged this marvellons cathedral. It has therefore frequently been necessary to restore sone parts of the structure and unfortunately enough,…

Die Türme von Saillon

Saillon wurde im 11. Jahrhundert zum ersten Mal erwähnt und der Hügel mit den steil abfallenden Flanken war schon damals befestigt. Die Festung mit den markanten Türmen war vor allem gegen Norden stark ausgebaut, da die Rhône zu dieser Zeit am südlichen Hügelfluss entlang floss.

Fondation Pierre Gianadda

Die Fondation Gianadda ist ein privates Museum, das 1978 eröffnet wurde und   in welchen das Gallo-römische Museum, das Automobilmuseum und der Skulpturen Park (mit einigen der wichtigsten Skulpturen von europäischen Artisten) Platz finden.  Um neue Säle zu bauen, ohne die schöne Umgebung zu zerstören, wurde sie ganz im Untergrund realisiert.

Basler Münster

Das Münster ist ein spätromanisch frühgotisches Bauwerk. Die Hauptteile des Münsters wurden mit einem roten Sandstein im letzten Drittel des 12. Jahrhunderts gebaut. Durch Feuer, Erdbeben und Witterungseinflüsse wurde das Münster immer wieder beschädigt und wurde bei diesen Renovationen laufend verändert.